What Happens When the Net is Hit in Badminton?

Written by

What happens when the shuttle hits the net featured image

The net is an important feature on the badminton court, but what happens when it is hit? The answer to that question depends on what is hitting the net. 

In this article we tell you what happens when the net is hit by the shuttle, you, your racket and even your partner.

What Happens When the Shuttle Hits the Net?

So nothing in particular happens when the shuttle hits the net, it is allowed to hit the net. The key is what happens next. 

If you hit the shuttle into the net and it doesn’t go over and lands on your side of the net, then your opponent wins the point. 

However, if the shuttle hits the net and tumbles over the net onto and lands on your opponent’s side then you win the point. If your opponent manages to return the shuttle, then the rally continues. If you hear people talking about hitting a “net cord”, this is what they are referring to, when the shuttle hits the top of the net (or the cord) and tumbles over. 

This rule is also the same for when you are serving. if the shuttle hits the net cord but lands inside the service boundaries, it is perfectly legal, but if it lands out then your opponent wins the point.

So in summary

The shuttle is allowed to hit any part of the net in badminton and still be considered in play as long as the shuttle still goes over the net and lands in play. In fact, the shuttlecock can hit the net multiple times during a rally and still be considered in play.

What Happens if the Shuttle Gets Stuck On the Net?

If the shuttle is suspended on top of the net or is caught in the net after passing over the net after the service, it is a let, which is where the point is replayed. If the shuttle gets stuck on your side of the net, it is not a let and you lose the point.

If the shuttle gets stuck in the net or is caught in the net after passing over the net, it is a fault for the server as the shuttle would not have reached the service boundary and landed out. This means your opponent wins the point.

What happens when you, your racket or your partner hits or Touches the Net?

If you, your racket or your partner hits or touches the net or its supports while the shuttle is still in play, you lose the rally and the point. 

This even includes if your clothing hits the net or posts. So if any part of your clothing touches the net, even if your body does not, you lose the rally. This is because while not part of a player’s body, clothing can still make the net move.

However, if you hit the net after the shuttle has hit the floor or your opponent, you do not lose the point as the rally is considered finished. It is the first fault committed that ends the rally, so if you hit the net after another fault then you do not lose the point.

Bonus

What happens if you or your racket goes under the net?

Though not about hitting the net, I thought it would be important to also discuss if it is a fault if you (often it is a foot) or your racket go under the net and invade the opponent’s side of the court. 

So the answer is, it depends …

Unfortunately, this rule is more subjective than the other rules as it is considered a fault if 

“an opponent is obstructed or distracted”. 

Sometimes it is clear cut, like if you stand on your opponent’s foot. But other times, it is hard to say if invading the opponent’s court is distracting or not.

Share the Post:

Related Posts